The Power of Positive Thinking

Growing up in the Caribbean, I always heard this saying “after laughing, is crying” which was usually told to kids who were romping and wilding out. Basically it was used as a scare tactic to get children to be less rambunctious. Having that drilled in my head at a young age, I always felt like if I were too happy, someway or the other, something would happen to make me unhappy.

As I began to find myself, without an excessive amount of social interaction and society shaping my thoughts, I realized that my mind has the ability to change the way I think and in turn, unfold instances which I project and envision. I know it may sound really strange to some people, and to others, well, I think they may agree with me.

For me, it works. For example, when my wisdom teeth started growing, it was painful and I kept saying to myself “its all in your head” and for some reason (and I believe its because I told myself “pain is all in your mind”), I stopped having painful growth. (My dentist actually showed me an x-ray with my teeth growing into the others saying it would be a painful experience). There was this one time, however, where I did get pain around my jaw and I believe its because I kept complaining about swollen cheeks, gums, my teeth and how I needed braces. I actually believe the more you complain about something instead of showing gratitude and thanking the universe for all your blessings, the more negative vibes would enter into your atmosphere.

There are so many quotes floating about social media (my Pinterest feed is full of them) about positivity, and before I even came across those, I had someone teaching me how to use the power of my mind (which we all have).  Maybe it can be seen as a trend to some, but an amazing trend it is, because, why would anyone want to have negativity in their life.

What I actually want to say is even though it seems as if sometimes we have a lot to worry about, thinking a happy thought would only make us feel better and less stressed. So be happy, be positive, show love and give thanks. Everything that is to happen will happen either way, so why stress? At least try to include some light into your life. Why not try to think of happier times and believe that whatever you are facing, you will make it through.  Every single thing that has happened, or is to happen, will teach us something- even if we don’t see it today or tomorrow or even in 5 years. Someday we will be thankful for whatever lesson. I’m not a religious person but I do believe in God and I think there is a plan for us all.

Sometimes I do wonder about the less fortunate and to be honest, I don’t understand what the Most High has planned in that aspect, but then I remember everything has to have a balance and once again, I’m reminded that I haven’t always experienced happy times. I mean what is happiness without sadness; for if sadness were to not exist, how would I ever appreciate joy.

What positive thinking comes down to, is practice. It actually is a skill that needs to be continuously worked upon and I sometimes struggle with it. I’m quite an emotional person, emphatic even, so sometimes its difficult to always stay positive and happy. Something as simple as music can affect the way we think but by practicing and controlling our minds to think good thoughts can change a lot.

Positive thinking is definitely the way to live life. It makes absolutely no sense to worry about something, especially if there is no way to change the situation and if there is a way, why worry? Instead, keep projecting those happy thoughts into the universe and work towards making that difference and let that energy make its way back to you. I guess it’s basically praying so don’t lose faith no matter what, and keep practicing those happy thoughts.

UPDATE:

I wrote this piece earlier and while skimming through my reader, I came across  Conventional Wisdom. Now maybe its coincidence, but I have been searching for ways to increase my online presence and out of the blue (or should i say reader..haha?), I found a way to do that, and it just so happens to be within the same category I was working on? hmmmm

 

♥ONE LOVE AND POSITIVE VIBES♥

– Always

5 thoughts on “The Power of Positive Thinking

  1. riannabohemianwanderlust says:

    I really enjoyed this post. Very relatable and got me inspired again as I woke up feeling a bit doubtful (easy fall back emotion, but one we have to tackle every day!) So thank you for this beautiful post and for getting me back in a positive way of thinking.

    Like

    • Kelley says:

      Thank you so much 😊 And don’t ever doubt yourself. I know sometimes it gets hard but we can do anything we set our minds to. Cliched, I know, but as I get older, I realise that it’s true. I have my “down” moments too but I tell myself “atleast I’m still able to feel”. Negative energy is so sneaky but good always outweighs the bad, so if ever you feel down, remember we have the ability to bring ourselves up again. Besides, feeling happy takes less effort so tell yourself “screw that negative shit. I’m amazing”

      Like

Leave a Reply

