The Greatest Musician in the World

A legend, an icon, in my opinion, The Greatest Musician in the World and a humble man- Robert Nesta Marley, or commonly known as Bob Marley. In recognition of one of the greatest icons in music history, who would have celebrated his 77th birthday on February 6th, I’ve decided to share my thoughts and how his music inspired me.

I remember having very little knowledge in relation to Bob Marley’s music until I was about 15. I attended a catholic high school and we were having “class mass” and were consulted for songs for “sign of peace”. Most of my classmates suggested we sing “One Love”. I had no idea what they were talking about. Of course I was like “yeah, let’s sing it” (tryna fit in), but I did know “Is This Love” from various movie soundtracks, still, my interest was not met until a few years later.

I don’t exactly remember when my curiosity peaked but it’s irrelevant. What actually matters is that I was inspired by every song I heard. Each composition seemed to be a creation of genius especially for being so simple. Unlike most of today’s music, Bob Marley sang with love. He shared a message. He taught life and happiness and one love and showed that we are all one. We are all human. Classes, race and creed are just titles created by people to separate us. Bob Marley not only provided great music, but he helped shaped my beliefs, aided in my growth and sparked my spiritual journey.

On an interview, I once heard him say that every law is illegal and I respect that so much. I know some people would disagree but who’s to say what is right and what is wrong? There’s a saying, “One man’s food is another man’s poison” which is probably more recognized. Basically it means, that perception varies and with 7 Billion people on earth, who can say what is good for one person can be met with the same reaction from another. Perhaps without laws there would be chaos but in a sense are we all slaves to a government? (I was about to type “please don’t think I’m crazy” here, but so what).

Anyway, below, I’d like to share some of my favorite lyrics from Bob Marley.

  • Every little thing is gonna be alright

Like the song says, “don’t worry, about a thing”. Live right and everything will be alright. What is the point of worrying? What is to come will come. We need to remain positive and remember that life is a gift and to appreciate the simple things. Everything we are faced with will be worked out and we will grow because of it.

  • Emaciate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our mind (this is actually from a speech by Marcus Garvey but I first heard it on Redemption song)

We are in control of our thoughts. Although we may see so much thing on social networks, (even more so, because of the internet) we have the ability to choose what we believe.

  • My richness is life

Many people measure their riches by the amount of money they have or by a successful career or a degree when in reality richness is the intangible things in life-Happiness and Love.

  • I don’t stand for the black man’s side, I don’t stand for the white man’s side. I stand for God’s side.

People are people no matter what race or creed. We are of the human race and that is all there is to it. God didn’t create segregation, people did.

One of my favorite chrous from school; “Jesus loves the little children, all the children of the world. Red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in His sight. Jesus loves the little children of the world.”

There are a lot more however, this post is getting too long so I’m going to leaveyou with one of my favorite songs by Bob Marley.

Have a good day everyone 🙂

PS: While browsing The Daily Post weekly prompts, I came across the prompt “The Greatest _____ in the World” and decided to pay tribute to whom I believe to be, the greatest musician in the world. Coincidentally, his birth date was only a few dates ago. 

 

♥ONE LOVE AND POSITIVE VIBES♥

One thought on “The Greatest Musician in the World

  1. Daniel Bayless says:

    I really like your perspective here. I appreciate that you can find God even in a place where many people would say He isn’t. Just like what you said about God didn’t create segregation, humans did….I also see that God doesn’t tell us to judge other people for being humans and feeling and believing what they do, He just asks us to love like Bob clearly understood. Every little thing is going to be alright..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

