Kari Crochet Top

Karie Bikini/Crop Top Free Pattern. OceansOriginals

Hi all, so I was working on this pattern for a few days, (about a week actually) and when I finally completed it, turns out it was too “small” (not really, but the the person I made it for is a little picky.. baby sisters *rolling my eye*). Anyway, it was one of the hardest patterns I ever designed even though the stitches are really quite simple, but the work itself was quite tedious. I ended up doing a lot of frogging even though my charts were perfect..And on the other hand, my actual crocheting was off for some reason but I do believe everything happens for a reason and so, due to all of the above, I was able to work harder at producing something even better, and it turns out, this is one of my favorite designs. Now to the pattern..

Oh before that, I’d quickly like to say that my work isn’t sponsored in any way. I’m writing these patterns as a way to share my passion with all you crocheters out there because when I first started, it was really difficult to find free patterns, especially for the type of pieces that I crochet. The patterns on my site are the written versions of what I have done when designing a piece. I know we all crochet in a way unique to us, and so, my way may not necessarily be the way you would crochet but I’m happy to clear things up if you run in to any problems or errors. Just send me a MESSAGE.

 

You can use Aunt Lydia crochet thread size 3

DMC Crochet cotton size 3

Any size 3 thread.

Hook size can be 3mm or 3.5mm (I used the 3 for a tighter stitch)

Pattern is written in US terms

(This is a pattern for a B- cup with the band measuring 26 inches- but I will leave some tips- black text, for different sizes and you can always send me a message if you run into any problems. I’m happy to help as you will be helping me improve the pattern for other crocheters.)

1″= 6DC

P.S. As I’ve said, this is a B cup with a band of  25.5 inches so depending on your cup size, follow the instructions for the cups. With regard to the band, go on ahead and measure below the bust line, leaving a few inches, as the top is laced up to close.

 

CUPS

Loosely chain 19

R1: DC in 5th chain from hook (this counts as the 1st DC), DC in each chain, placing 3DC in last chain (18DC). Chain 1, 3DC in the 1st chain (other side of the chain 19- the “v” loops) DC along. (18DC, chain 1, 18DC)

R2-7: chain 3 (counts as the 1st DC of the row), turn. DC along (into DC of previous row), *2 DC chain 1, 2 DC* in chain 1 space (from previous row) DC until end of row.

R8: Chain 4 *DC, skip 1 stitch, chain 1* 15 times, chain 1. Chain 1, DC in chain 1 space. *chain 1, skip 1 stitch, DC* 15 times.

R9: chain 3 (counts as the 1st DC of the row), turn. DC in each chain and each DC (of previous row), *2 DC chain 1, 2 DC* in chain 3 space (from previous row) DC until end of row.

Fasten off. Make 2 cups.

 

For a small cup, do 7 rows, incorporating rows 8 and 9 as the 6th and 7th row.

For a large cup, do 11 rows, incorporating rows 8 and 9 as the 10th and 11th row.

 

MESH SECTION

Starting at the top of one cup (the chain 1s), SC along the inner part of the cup, chain 5 for a medium (3- small, 7- large or however many chains/space you need between the cups- preferably and odd number). Attach the next cup at the side the chain 3 from the last row of the cup, with a SC and continue with SC all the way to the chain1 at the top of that cup.

R1: DC along the entire row of SC until there is 2SC left on 1 cup. Chain 1, skip 2SC on next cup, DC along the row. 

R2: Chain 3. *3DC in next stitch, skip 2 stitches*. Repeat ** until is 4 stitches left (from the previous row). Chain 1. Skip 4 stitches on next cup, *3DC in next stitch, skip 2 stitches*. Repeat ** until there is 1 stitch left and DC in that last stitch.

R3: SC into each stitch.

R4: Chain 4, skip 1 stitch, *3DCtogether, chain 2*. Repeat ** until there is one group of 3DC left (from the previous row). Chain 1, Skip 1 group of 3DC (from previous row on next cup- so there should be 7SC between the 3DCclusters)*3DCtogether, chain 2*. Repeat ** until there are 2Sc left, chain 1, skip 1stitch and DC in the last stitch.

R5: SC into each stitch.

R6: DC into each stitch until you get to the last 3 on the cup. Skip those 3 stitches, skip the chain1 stitch from R4 (this should have a SC). Skip 3 stitches on next cup and DC along the other cup (there should be 7SC between the DC of the cups)

R7: Chain 4, *skip 1 stitch, DC in the next stitch, chain 1*. Repeat ** until there are 3 stitches left on 1 cup, chain 1, Skip 3stitches on next cup. *DC, chain 1, skip 1 stitch*. Repeat ** placing a DC in the last stitch. (there should be 7 open stitches including the chain separating the cups)

R8: DC into each stitch until the last DC, chain 1 DC. Chain 1. Skip a DC, chain 1, DC and DC into each stitch. (there should be 7 open stitches including the chain separating the cups)

R9-11: Repeat R:2-4

This should be about the same for all the sizes but you can give or take a stitch or 2 if you think it’s necessary..or contact me if you want the specifics.

 

 

BAND

For the band, we need to work in groups of 12+1. For the size i’m working with, 26 inches. I did 157 chains. so just follow the pattern, for different sizes, using groups of 12+1.

For different sizes, chain groups of 12+1

 

R1: 157DC

R2: chain 5, *skip 2 stitches, 3DC in the next stitch*. Repeat ** til there is 3 DC left (from the previous row), skip 2 of the stitches and place a DC in the last stitch.

R3: SC into each stitch (157SC)

R4: Chain 5, skip 1 stitch, 3DCtog, chain 2. *3DCtog, chain 2* Repeat ** til there are 2 SC left (from the previous row), DC in the last stitch. (157 stitches)

R5: DC into each stitch. (2DC in each chain 2 space, 1Dc in each 3DCtogther- 157DC)

R6: chain 4, skip 1 stitch, DC in next stitch. *Chain 1, skip 1 stitch, DC in next stitch.* Repeat ** til end of the row.

R7:  DC into each stitch. (DC in each chain 1 space, DC in each DC from previous row- 157DC)

R8-11: Repeat rows 2-5

 

Since the top is laced up, we have to make openings for the string to run through, so….

~turn the band to the width and do a row of SC. Place 2SC in each DC and 1SC in the SC rows. You should end up with 20SC.

For the openings, chain 1, turn, 3SC, chain 2, skip 2 stitches,* 2SC, chain2, skip 2 stitches* 3 times, 3SC~

Fasten off.

Repeat ~~ on the next side of the band. Do not fasten off.

 

Find the center of the band, (in my case- 157, the center is the 79th stitch) and place a stitch marker. I also placed stitch markers in the 41st stitch (the next stitch-42nd) will be where I will attach my cup, and I placed a stitch marker in the 116th stitch, (this will be where the 2nd cup will end).

I did this by doing a little math.

I usually place 2stitches to a DC so with my medium cup, that would be 34 stitches, plus 1 row of SC (from the meshy section) and 2 from the 5 separating the cups.

41=34 – 1 – 2 –79+ 2 + 1 + 34=116 

SC into each SC from the previous row place 2SC in the chain 2 spaces. 

SC the length of the band placing 1SC in each SC row that we just did. (Place a stitch marker in the 1st SC of this section for the back tie). Attach the cups using SC, placing 2 SC in each DC (the way I described above).

SC along til the end of the band, placing 1SC in the 1st SC of the band width and 3SC in the next SC row. Place a stitch marker in the 2nd SC and SC down the row. You should have 20SC.

Fasten off.

Attach the thread to the cups or the stitch on the band right next to the cups (I attached to the stitch next to the cup). SC all the way up the side of the cup. When you get to the chain 1 space of the cup, start doing HDC (I use the HDC because I think it makes a smoother line). HDC up til the last row of the mesh section. Place a stitch marker and SC across the mesh section. HDC down the side of the mesh section (placing a stitch marker in the 1st HDC). The last HDC will be in the Chain 1 space of the cup. SC all the way to the last DC of the cup.

 

We are almost finished.

Slip stitch along the band and when you get to the stitch marker, chain 130 or desired length and HDC along the chain. Slip stitch into the stitch where the chain started and slip stitch all the way to the bottom.

You can slip stitch around the entire top and do lengths of chains and HDC in each stitch with the markers or you can do a shell design like I did. (bear in mind this is for the piece I did so for different sizes, if you are looking for perfection, you will have to figure out the math)

SC into the vertical line of SC (the ones with the tie and the tie spaces- that should be 3SC) and 1 more SC (4SC) *skip 2 stitches, 5DC in one stitch, skip 2 stitches, SC in next stitch*. Repeat ** until there are 3DC (from the previous row) left, SC into the last one and do 3SC into the stitches that are running vertically.  

Slip stitch to the cup. In the 1st stitch,*SC, skip 2stitches, 5DC in the next stitch, Skip 2 stitches*. Repeat ** til the top of the cup (like I did), or all the way up to the marker.

Chain 100 at the marker, HDC down, slip stitch in the same stitch, Slip stitch across the top of the mesh section. Chain 100 at the marker, HDC down, slip stitch in the same stitch. Repeat the shell design from the other cup onto this cup.

Fasten off and weave in ends.

 

♥ONE LOVE AND POSITIVE VIBES♥

 

DISCLAMER: My free patterns are untested, so if you run into any problems, send me a message and I will be happy to help 🙂
ALL patterns are copyright© protected and cannot be copied, duplicated or reproduced in any way, however, you are permitted to sell any item made from the pattern, on a small scale, as long as “OCEANSORIGINALS” is credited. If pattern is to be used for large-scale commercial, purposes, you are to get approval by me, “OCEANSORIGINALS” and give credit where it is due.
Text and images Copyright© 2017 by OceansOriginals, all rights reserved.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Kari Crochet Top

    • Kelley says:

      Thank you Emma. I love the color too. When I got to the store they were restocking the shelves and they opened up the box and I had to get it.. my sister was there and she too had to get some for me to design a piece for her (this piece actually).

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kelley says:

      lol.. aww. I have so much tops in my “design cupboard”. I live in the Caribbean and haven’t worn one recently.. it’s the rainy season here so I know what you mean. I just want to live on the beach!

      Like

Leave a Reply

